How much does insurance go up after a DUI?
Fact-checked with HomeInsurance.com
The consequences of getting a DUI are much more severe than many other driving incidents. Sorting out the legal consequences can be complicated on its own, and then there is the matter of your car insurance. Your insurance rates will usually see a steep increase once a DUI is on your record.
Historically, law enforcement agencies referred to drunk driving offenses as DWIs, or driving while intoxicated. A DUI was commonly associated with driving under the influence of drugs. But many jurisdictions now use the terms interchangeably. A DUI now usually refers to any offense related to driving under the influence of any type of drug, including alcohol.
National average rates before and after a DUI:
- Full coverage: $1,555
- Minimum coverage: $545
- Full coverage with DUI: $2,849, or +$1,294
- Minimum coverage with DUI: $1,084, or +$539
Insurance rate increases by state after a DUI
As each state differs in how DUIs affect rates, the table below may help you gain insight into average rate changes across the U.S. Other factors that can affect rates include whether this DUI is your first offense, the number of points that you have on your driving record, and your accident history. Rate increases will also vary somewhat from one insurance carrier to another.
|State||Average rate||Average rate after DUI||Difference|
|District of Columbia||$1,675||$2,481||$806|
Quadrant information services, 2020
States with the highest rate increases after a DUI
- North Carolina
In North Carolina, the average annual full coverage insurance rate for those with a clean driving record is $1,378 per year. A DUI will make that rate more than triple, at $4,768, for a total increase of $3,390. California comes in as a distant second, with an average full coverage rate for a driver with a clean record of $1,974 bumping up to $3,853 — a total increase of $1,879.
North Carolina had 1,321 fatal crashes in 2018, according to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS). Of those, 724 deaths were associated with drunk drivers. On the whole, insurance carriers in this state levy the most severe increase in auto insurance rates for drivers with DUIs in the entire country.
California recorded 3,259 fatal car crashes in 2018 as well, with 1,369 deaths tied to drunk driving. Though these numbers are higher in total than North Carolina, rates in California are second highest in overall increase when a DUI is factored in.
This state, with its relatively small population, only saw 110 deaths from car crashes in 2018 and 26 total DUI-related deaths. But the average insurance rate increase for those who get a DUI are still among the highest in the country, with an average annual full coverage rate increase of $1,566.
Although its population is much larger than that of Hawaii, the rate of fatal accidents in Louisiana are still much lower than the other states listed above. However, of the 716 deaths from car crashes in 2018, about half related to drunk driving (363). A DUI will raise your car insurance premiums by about $1,645 per year.
This state also has a relatively low population, totaling 201 fatal car crashes in 2018 — 115 tied to drunk driving. Likely because of the high percentage of fatal accidents involving DUIs, having one on record increased rates significantly, by $1,396 per year.
States with the smallest rate increase after a DUI
- New York
- District of Columbia
The insurance carriers in these states are much more forgiving to drivers who get a DUI than the states in the previous list. Although the differences in price are still high, they are lower than all of the other states.
Despite its population density, New York tracked 889 fatal accidents in 2018, with 359 associated with drunk driving. The average car insurance rate increase for a DUI in New York is a relatively low $609 per year
This sparsely-populated state saw a total of 212 deaths from car crashes in 2018, with more than half tied to drunk driving (114). However, car insurance rates for DUI offenders only increases an average of $684 per year.
505 of Missouri’s 2018 fatal car accidents (881 deaths in total) were related to DUIs. While still fairly low on the end of state increases, If you get a DUI in this state, your insurance will rise by around $768 per year.
With its high population density, it’s not surprising that Florida reported 2,915 deaths from car crashes in 2018, with just over 1,160 attributed to drunk drivers. The average insurance premium increase for drivers who get a DUI in Florida is $780 per year.
District of Columbia
The District of Columbia has one of the lowest rates of accident-fatalities in the country. In 2018 alone, it reported only 30 fatal accidents, with just 5 associated with drunk driving. However, average rates increased $806 per year when factoring in a DUI.
Auto insurance rates after a DUI by top carriers
As these findings indicate, if you are charged with a DUI, you can expect to pay more for your car insurance. You will likely have to pay a higher rate for as long as your DUI stays on your driving record, although this can vary by provider and your specific circumstances. And any other points that you accumulate on your driving record can also affect your insurance, such as for speeding or for any other type of moving violation. Below, you can see how different carriers increase average rates when factoring in a DUI.
|Carrier||Average rate||Average rate with DUI||Difference|
Quadrant information services, 2020
Shopping for cheap car insurance with a DUI
The table above illustrates that some carriers’ rates may be more competitive when it comes to DUIs, but many variables can affect this for your circumstances. Carriers also may raise their rates by different percentages, so comparison-shopping is essential when looking for the best provider. Here are other factors to consider when shopping for cheap car insurance with a DUI:
- Overall rates for national providers
- High-risk insurers
- Safe driving discounts
- Driver safety training discounts
If you do not qualify for coverage from the providers above, it helps to know some providers specialize in offering rates for high-risk drivers. The following may not be available in all states or to all drivers, but are particularly notable in their offerings to high risk drivers:
How long does a DUI stay on your record?
In most states, a DUI will stay on your record for three to 10 years, but some states leave it on your record for much longer than that depending on the severity or frequency of the conviction. For example, in Alaska it can stay on your record permanently.
How long after a DUI does your insurance go down?
The average length of time that a DUI will affect your insurance varies by state, provider and whether or not providers keep rates higher as long as the DUI stays on your record. In general, you will likely pay higher insurance rates for as long as your DUI stays on your record.
- Getting a DUI will typically result in higher insurance rates.
- The increase in your rates will depend upon your insurance carrier and the state you live in, among other factors.
- A DUI will typically stay on your driving record for many years.
- You will most likely have to pay higher rates for as long as your DUI is on your driving record.
- Comparing providers can help you determine which offers the most competitive rates associated with your DUI conviction.
Getting a DUI is an expensive proposition even under the best of circumstances. But some states and insurers are more forgiving with this than others. You may need to find a different insurance company if your current one tries to gouge you unfairly. Consult your insurance agent to find out more about getting coverage if you get a DUI or DWI and find yourself an attorney.
Coverage utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a DUI, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our sample drivers own a 2018 Honda Accord, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
*DUI qualifies as > .08 BAC
These are sample rates and should be used for comparative purposes only. Your quotes may be different.
Rates are determined based on 2020 Quadrant Information Services data.